Shore diving conditions – East coast Florida


This week’s conditions: (9/5/11)It should not be any surprise to divers that viz is pretty much crap in Vero Beach area after Irene blew into town. We went diving (or tried to) last (30th) Weds and the viz was about 3 feet so we scrapped the dive. Stayed tuned as I will continue to watch and post as soon as it clears up. I checked the video cam and it doesn’t look too rough. I chatted with someone at Deep Six today and they said still no good for shore diving. Also my son went to Cocoa Beach yesterday with friends and he got quite a few jelly stings so be careful. There is a large patch of jellies that has been making it’s way North, displaced from the Gulf Stream with Irene.
However, I just read a report from someone today who dove off Fort Lauderdale Beach at Oakland park Reef. He was shore diving.

I have not been diving in 6 days due to the Viz and rips off Vero Beach and not having much time off. I have 3 days I am off by 4 this week and hopefully Sunday I can do an early am and late dive after 6pm offshore in Vero.
I am hearing 15-20′ viz in LDBS and some good reports for boat dives.

About daniellesdives

diving enthusiast
This entry was posted in Dive conditions and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

