Lauderdale by the Sea (4/23/12) shore dive


I have a ton of pics and videos I will be uploading.   It is taking some time so please be patient.  I have had some people ask me a few questions about the photography.  I am still very new to the whole picture taking and video side of things.  It is only my 4th time using camera.  I have all the buttons down pat now and can flip easy from vid to pic mode.  I also am not having any issue with carrying the camera.  I am a diver FIRST.  Pictures are a way for me to reflect and learn about all the gorgeous creatures I see along the way.  I find it an easy way to reference back to what I saw and get descriptions correct so I can learn more about a certain fish, shark or piece of coral such as learn about it’s habitats, eating habits and any issues this ocean wonder may be having at present.  For this dive, I can clearly identify at least a dozen new creatures I saw and recorded from my dive.  Look for future writeups to be done on them.

With that said…I will be doing a full writeup on the 4/23 dive. It may take me a few days so check back to this post.  It is very time consuming editing pictures and video, copywriting them, sorting them and reflecting on them.   We only got one dive in due to an issue with Rich’s AIR2.  Just had it serviced but his bcd was failing to inflate on day 2.

With that said, here are the pictures I took in a slideshow.  This was for second day dive.  Below I will split the creature up in a gallery so you can see the variety.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have to tell you what the trifecta for me is.  When I sea a turtle, sharks and eels in one dive…I call that the trifecta. I unfortnately did not see any turtles on this trip and was shocked.  The water seemed like it had a high algae count that they like plus with turtle nesting season in full swing, I figured we see a few.  I did however get to see three types of eels in one dive (green moray eel, sharptailed eel and yellowhead eel) plus two different sharks in one dive (nurse shark and angel shark pup).  I was even fortunate enough to see a healthy size remora clinging to the nurse shark.  I had never seen this symbiosis before.  I will say we were in the water by 9am.  Both sharks and eels are known to be night hunters so in my opinion I think they were just finishing feeding and bedding down for the day.

Sharptailed Eel

Sharptailed Eel

Sharptailed Eel

Sharptailed Eel

Sharptail Eel

Sharptail Eel

Sharptail Eel head

Goldentail Moray Eel

Goldentail Moray Eel

Goldentail Moray Eel

Goldentail Moray Eel

Goldentail Moray Eel

Goldentail Moray Eel

Goldentail Moray Eel

Goldentail Moray Eel

Green Moray Eel & Sturgeon Fish

Green Moray Eel & Sturgeon Fish

For the sharks I got up close and personal.  As close as I have ever been to sharks.  There is a great fear for me of sharks.   I do not harass and get as close as they will let me for a photo op.  As you will be able to tell from my pics of the nurse shark, I wasn’t getting too close to his face.

Angel Shark Pup

Angel Shark Pup

The angle shark is apparently very rare to see in person.  They do not even have pictures of it on my Reef Net fish id software.  This was a pup.  Refer back to my previous writeup on these fascinating creatures…Holy Angel Shark!.  Hubby Rich has seen one about 4 or 5 times larger than this one on a dive in January in LDBS.  This guy was less than 2 feet long.

Angel Shark Pup

Angel Shark Pup

Huge Nurse Shark & Remora

Huge Nurse Shark & Remora

So let’s talk about this nurse shark I saw.  Absolutely huge!  Had to have been 10-12 feet,  it was very fat probably from just feeding.  He was much longer than I was.  I was swimming around on the second reef and just turned a corner and BAM!!! he was just settling down for bed.  Notice on the front side, midway down the remora.  Also very large probably at least 2-3 feet.  Rich was nowhere to be found.  he was in front of me.  I tried to find him and waited to see if he would come back.  I finally had to surface as a good dive buddy does after 3 minutes to wait for him.  I popped up and it was clear enough for me to look down with mask and keep my position until he surfaced.  He finally does and tells me he was waiting for me on top of a large reef squid.  Dammit!  But in my opinion my shark trumped his squid but he thinks the opposite as we never see squid.

Huge Nurse Shark & Remora

Huge Nurse Shark & Remora

Huge Nurse Shark & Remora

Huge Nurse Shark & Remora

Huge Nurse Shark & Remora

Huge Nurse Shark & Remora

Huge Nurse Shark & Remora

Huge Nurse Shark & Remora

I just launched the website Danielle’s Dives.  This blog is a passion of mine but it is a little restrictive on some of the crazy new things I have coming up in my life and tasks I am taking on board.  I am looking to be a sponsor in a fabulous upcoming dive event and just need to expand a little.  Look for some awesome dive trips deals and discounts for Florida that I have negotiated on behalf of divers.  I found it so frustrating along the way that there wasn’t more cool stuff to do as a dive unit so I hope this helps.  If you do not have plans for mini season yet….stay tuned.  If you do have plans for mini season…stay tuned as you may want to change them.  I have an event you will want to be a part of!  Should have full details in next week or so.  Working on something for coral spawning season as well.

So hang tight, I will have everything on within the next 48 hours or so.

About daniellesdives

diving enthusiast
This entry was posted in Florida Diving, Lauderdale by the Sea and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lauderdale by the Sea (4/23/12) shore dive

  1. Brian says:

    Eager to see the pics and vids of your dive.

  2. Pingback: Lauderdale by the sea this past weekend pics and videos

  3. Brian says:

    Woot. I saw!

    • It was an awesome dive! If you have nothing planned for mini season, I have the event for you coming up that Danielle’s dive is going to cosponsor. Check out my new website at Daniellesdives.com
      It will be going live on Monday, there is a form there to fill out so I can email you all the details

Leave a Reply

