Slow down, smell the shrimp – Dinner Date Recipe


Ok, I am getting out of work a little early tonight and spending some quality time with the hubby. This blog post is a little deviation from my norm. I thought I would share tonight’s little recipe and see if I could inspire any of you to check out with a loved one over dinner for a while.  All to often, I find between the 2 hour car time and the 11 hour shifts in the mall, I forget to slow down and eat at the table and actually listen to what Rich is saying. In my quest to spend more time in the water enjoying scuba diving, juggling a store in the mall, two websites, 2 blogs and with the start up of our new company Gypsy Rose, I need to remember who I want to spend and share it all with. Without him, I could not imagine my life or who I would spend time reaching for our dreams with!

So tonight it is shrimp in creamy Dijon sauce. Big bottle of wine, Rich’s fave beer and hopefully my 18 year old will not want anything to do with his parents tonight. (did I say that?)

Simply sautéed shrimp become utterly elegant with a creamy mustard sauce. Serve this entrée when you’re looking for something light, delicious, and fancy that cooks up quickly. Makes 4 servings. So let’s call it two as I am sure neither one of us has eaten anything more that the muffin this morning. Cook time and prep time under 30 minutes! I am going to have a light antipasti platter to start of assorted olives, cheeses and fresh sliced tomatoes while we chat and I cook.

Recipe calls for 10 medium uncooked shrimp – I am choosing shell off. but probably going to do a good pound of shrimp
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
¼ cup olive oil
2 medium shallots, minced
1 bunch fresh tarragon, minced
½ cup Chardonnay
½ cup heavy cream
½ pound butter, diced into small pieces
2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
1 tablespoons minced chives

I am going to slightly alter this and throw in some garlic, because in my opinion fresh garlic makes anything taste better and it will help ward off the mosquito infestation we are having in Cocoa. I am also a serious parm cheese lover so freshly grated will be tossed on top.

Directions:

  1. Lightly season shrimp with salt and pepper.
  2. Heat oil in a large skillet over high heat. Sauteed garlic quickly. Remove from pan. Add shrimp and cook 8 minutes, stirring; remove from skillet and set aside.
  3. Add shallot and tarragon to skillet and cook 3 minutes. Add Chardonnay and heavy cream; cook for another minute.
  4. Add butter and Dijon to skillet, stirring to incorporate. Cook for 1 to 2 minutes, until well combined.
  5. Pour sauce over reserved shrimp and serve garnished with chives.

Pair this saucy shrimp sauté with buttered noodles, a white rice pilaf, or over a baby green salad. I think I am going for an al dente fettuccine. This is a flexible entrée to pair with wines, so feel free to choose a favorite wine at the table. Excellent choices include Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Grigio, Chardonnay, or Moscato.

so join me tonight, slow down, turn the tv off, dump the kids at grammas or a neighbor and share with your spouse a bottle of wine and some good conversation.

